Home > Parenting, Poo in the News, Topic Discussion > Japan Earthquake Learnings: Creating Relatable Analogies of Poop (CRAP)

Japan Earthquake Learnings: Creating Relatable Analogies of Poop (CRAP)

Every so often, I experience something that completely changes my perception of reality. A paradigm shift if you will. You know what I’m talking about. Something that makes you look at the world differently for better or worse. The birth of your first child, learning Einstein’s theory of relativity, hearing Christian Bale speak for the first time outside of a movie and realizing he’s not American. Well, a couple months ago I came upon something that  rocked my world and I haven’t been the same since.

You all recall the tsunami that devastated Japan I assume. Watching the  destruction and resulting suffering was enough to humble the proudest soul and change one’s life forever. However it wasn’t the actual disaster and suffering that changed my life, but rather a short instructional video that was created to teach children about the threat of an impending nuclear disaster as a result of the tsunami. If you haven’t seen it you can check out this gem here.

When I first watched this video it blew my mind. I felt a little like Doc Brown when he realized he could use the electricity from a lighting bolt to generate the 1.21 gigawatts of electricity he needed to power the Delorian back to the future instead of the plutonium he had always used. “Why hadn’t I thought of this before?” I marveled. Using poo analogies to teach difficult concepts to children. Genius! As Papa Squat has said, taking a dump is the Great Common Denominator . Everyone can relate to it. Even little kids. When you tell a story about crapping your pants, it’s hilarious to all, young and old alike, because everyone’s done it.

So it makes complete sense to use something so universal, like poop, to explain something so complex, like nuclear meltdowns. Once I realized this,  I’ve been using what I now refer to as Creating Relatable Analogies of Poop (or the CRAP method) to teach my kids all sorts of useful information that would have otherwise been too advanced for their small brains. They now understand why the housing bubble burst, where babies come from, and the aforementioned theory of relativity. All thanks to CRAP.

Give it a shot. CRAP with your kids and let me know how it goes.

  1. June 23, 2011 at 9:12 pm

    OH man, this crap is too funny. I loved that video – why is everything Japanese instantly cool? I particularly enjoyed the CRAP advice. I will be employing this advice as soon as my son figures out what poop is all about…shouldn’t be too far off at the rate he’s droppin’ bombs.

    • June 23, 2011 at 9:22 pm

      I have to agree Doogan Howser – this post was solid like a BM of my dreams. Your children only have a bright future ahead of them in AP classes and honor courses now that they know the secret to understanding.

  2. ThePapaSquat
    June 23, 2011 at 9:45 pm

    This must be the reason Japan has consistently crushed American’s in Math & Science testing over the past decades. They are getting an unfair headstart. Thanks to Doogan for discovering the secret weapon to learning.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

