Home > Health, Marriage > The Curse of the Broken Bladder Seal – Fact or Fiction?

The Curse of the Broken Bladder Seal – Fact or Fiction?

For as long as my wife and I have been potty talking, we have debated the existence of the bladder seal.  Let me explain where this all comes from.  One day I was sitting in a bar with some coworkers watching baseball, eating nachos, and discussing how much we hated our client at the time.  In between rantings one coworker, I’ll call him Pedro, made the following comment:  “Man, I really have to pee but I just don’t want to break the seal.”  The seal?  What seal?  Pedro couldn’t believe I wasn’t familiar with the seal.  In fact, all my workmates were blown away.  How could I not know about the seal?  They explained that the human bladder has a period where it is strong and can hold unthinkable amounts of liquid.  It is only when a person breaks that seal by urinating that it becomes weak from all the work and the person is left with the need to pee with high frequency until they stop drinking liquids and give the bladder a break.  This is often manifested in a bar because you can drink several beverages without peeing, but the second you go once you start going with every bottle.
 
I started paying attention to my need to pee and noticed that they were spot on.  For example, I can go hours without peeing at work in the morning.  The second I relieve myself for whatever reason I am doomed to several hours of frequent visits to the toilet.  I have found it to be true.  So now I try not to break the seal before any situation where I can’t pee for a period of time.  I never break the seal before a movie, a flight or meeting – if possible.
 
Well, my wife thinks I’m retarded every time I mention that I don’t want to break the seal or have already broken the seal.  Why?  I have clear, empirical evidence that the seal concept is a true and valid fact!  Besides, all my coworkers were familiar with it – maybe she is just as ignorant as I once was.  But how has she not seen it in her own life?  I even try to point it out to her when it happens to her own body, but she denies my claims.
 
So am I crazy?  Have you noticed the seal phenomenon?
  1. Dr. Colonic
    October 3, 2011 at 1:38 am

    Hmmm… some bladder sphincter weakness phenomenon would only make sense if you peed less volume each time you had to go. That’s usually not the case. The urine gets more dilute, but the volume seems to stay the same.

    You can just think of it like this. Your bladder holds like 350 ml, that’s like one can of soda. As soon as you start drinking, your kidneys start cranking up the fill rate. But they can’t fill it up nearly as fast as you can drink it, so you’ll get this delayed effect where you have to still pee frequently for quite a while after you stop drinking.

    So, if you down 2 sodas, you will have to go twice. A 64-oz Big Gulp? 5 times. Guaranteed. It’s just that the kidneys weren’t really filling you that fast before you started drinking, and now they are, so you hit your 350 ml limit a lot faster.

    So, no bladder seal. Your co-workers were morons. Well, that or they didn’t understand the simple equation Volume = (FillRate) x time + StartVolume. Geez.

  2. October 3, 2011 at 3:03 am

    Wow, doctors know so much it makes my head spin. The phenomenom seemed so real though! And I guess people used too think the world was flat too. People without scientific evidence can be dumb sometimes

  3. October 3, 2011 at 2:28 pm

    I agree. Waiting only makes the effect worse. People need to realize that alcohol, beer in particular, is only rented, not owned.

  4. GiJo
    February 7, 2012 at 5:44 pm

    jeez… can’t we just have some simple man truths anymore? i still prefer the bladder seal theory LOL
    ps. “doctors” really need to be less condescending… probably part of the reason conventional wisdom is no longer absolute.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

