Home > Health, Humor > Would Your Rather Lick Your iPhone or the Toilet?

Would Your Rather Lick Your iPhone or the Toilet?

Do you love your phone?  I do!  The Droid puts nearly everything at my fingertips (work, school, family, entertainment, etc).  Yet the media has recently been reporting that the mobile phone, particularly smart phones are laden with germs.  I have seen numerous articles in the past year like this one from Wired citing a Stanford study that found the mobile phone has more germs than a toilet seat.

CLICK HERE FOR STUDY

It wasn’t the first study to demonstrate this and it won’t be the last.  Don’t get me wrong, as a quasi-scientist I believe the data and am fascinated by the subject.  It’s just that I don’t think the civilized world is over the stigma of the toilet/bathroom/bodily functions yet.  The average person simply will not change their behavior even if there are 18 times more germs on their phone than the flush handle in a public restroom and I can prove it with my own study.

I would pay a research subject 20 dollars for a single lick with their tongue.  They could either lick a brand new phone after I play Angry Birds on it for 10 minutes or a brand new toilet site after I drop a load from upon it.  Either you are licking a phone screen recently warmed by my hands/fingers or a toilet seat recently warmed by my naked ass cheeks. 

I predict 9 of 10 would not hesitate to pick the phone screen.  But if my research subjects knew the scientific data that phones are germier than toilet seats do you think they would change their decision?  Absolutely not!  Sadly, the stigma would be too much to overcome.

So, would you pick the phone or the toilet seat?

  1. ThePapaSquat
    November 15, 2011 at 1:21 am

    PS: I lick my own phone all of the time to clean it off. Sure I could use a wet wipe or moisten a paper towel but I am lazy!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

