Home > Humor, Parenting > Did My 1-Year-Old Just Fart In My Face?

Did My 1-Year-Old Just Fart In My Face?

The other day I was reading a story to my nearly 2-year-old son. As I was reading, the mounting pressure in my colon had built to a point of no return, so I let it out without remorse. I was among family, and besides, my son was too young to get farting or really learn any socially deplorable habits from his terrible example of a father.

The second the air squeaked from my cheeks, my son giggled and said “Dada Toot!”. I was shocked, but had to left. But as we sat there reading Dr. Seuss, I couldn’t help but wonder if my example would lead to good or bad things. Growing up my family was open about farting and that clearly has had its impact (understatement of the century?). Other friends did not have that openness and called taking a dump “BMs” and farting “fluffering” or “floomfs” or something else completely ridiculous and wrong. But maybe that is the way to go? What do you all call farts and poop with your kids?

I finished the book certain that being open about bodily functions was the right way to go. As my son rolled off the bed, he put his butt in my face and forcefully squeezed out air. Then he laughed and said, “I TOOT!”. I wasn’t sure if I should scold him or hug him. He got the hug. Like father, like son I guess.

  1. January 5, 2012 at 9:04 pm

    Just to update, my son took his first dump in a toilet yesterday. I think it might be the most proud I have been to date.

  2. January 27, 2012 at 6:17 pm

    but you left out a very important detail..which Dr Seuss book were you reading?

    and well done for your son taking his first dump in the toilet.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PqLMcyUFrSA -Elmo’s potty time song, really bluesy and cool, a great way to encourage the little ones!

  3. February 2, 2012 at 6:50 pm

    Thanks Romantic Ideas. The kid loves elmo and man I would like to get him poopin’ in a toilet.

    I believe we were reading Wocket in my Pocket.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

